The official website of the

alabama society

Minuteman Award

The Minuteman Award is the highest award presented to a member by the National Society.  It is presented for distinguished service rendered to the SAR on the national level.  Members are selected by the Minuteman Committee which is appointed by the President General from previous recipients of the medal.  The medal is presented by the President General at an Annual Congress.  It is not presented in absentia.  It was authorized in 1952 and beginning in 1968 the medal is not awarded to more than six recipients per year.

The following is a list of those Alabama Society Compatriots who have received the Minuteman Award:

          2021 - James H. Maples

          2019 - William O. Stone

          2018 - C. David Billings

          2017 - C. Bruce Pickette

          2013 – Michael C. Wells
          2012 – Larry P. Cornwell

          2008 – John R. Wallace

          2003 – P. Rod Hildreth

          2001 – O. Lee Swart

          1995 – Horace R. Jordan

          1984 – John L. McConnell

          1968 – Ryall S. Morgan

          1959 – Robert P. Gordon

          1955 – William T. Carpenter

                                                            SAR Minuteman Award
The medal is rectangular in shape, struck in sterling silver.  It depicts a Minuteman holding a rifle with a plow in the background.  The Liberty Bell appears on it also.  On the reverse is inscribed “Highest Award of the National Society Sons of the American Revolution.  Presented to (Name, National Number, Year).”  The medal is worn suspended from a neck ribbon of light blue silk.  It is awarded only to individual members on a one-time basis.